Buns

On the sixth day…Mincemeat Swirls

CIMG5621

On the sixth day of Christmas Stephen baked for me…Mincemeat swirls! Here we have a really quick and versatile twist on the traditional Mincemeat pies. I do love a good old mincemeat pie but some of the ones available these days are so big and lacking in flavour I can be completely put off them altogether. I think the smaller bite-sized ones are much better since the filling is so heavy.

CIMG5582

I thought what way could I give these a modern twist, make them slightly lighter but also keep them on the pastry side of things? Puff pastry immediately came to mind as it’s so light and flaky that I knew it would certainly work well. This is really just a twist on a cinnamon swirl or cinnamon Danish, just using Mincemeat instead.

CIMG5620

My recipe below is so versatile and I have left it open to your own interpretation. The additional options are but a few suggestions of mine you could add; the list is endless. To help make things quick at Christmas you can use the store bought versions of the pastry and Mincemeat , or make your own if you have the time!

CIMG5576

You will need:

1x 411g jar Mincemeat (or your own homemade)
375g puff pastry (store bought or homemade)

Additional options:
Grated fruit
Marzipan
Icing sugar
Clementine, orange or lemon zest
Crushed nuts
Chocolate pieces
Dried fruit
Spices
Alcohol e.g. Rum, Amaretto, Brandy

How to do it:

  1. If you’re jazzing up your Mincemeat do it now to give the flavours a chance to absorb. For mine I grated one whole Breburn apple, added chunks of Marzipan, zested 1 lemon, added in about 25g each of sultanas and raisins, 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1 tsp ground nutmeg and ½ tsp allspice, and mixed everything together. About 2 tbsp of Icing sugar and 1 of cornflour were also added to help absorb a little of the liquid.
  2. On a floured surface, roll out your puff pastry to a large rectangle about 25X60 cm and about 3mm thick. I made my own so I had already infused it with some spices likes Cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, but you can sprinkle some of your own over it at this point too. Tack down the longer edge closest to you and spread over the Mincemeat evenly leaving ½ cm free at each side.
    CIMG5564
  3. From the far side start to roll the pastry toward you into a large sausage. Make sure it is tight but not to the point that the mixture is poking through or leaking out.
    CIMG5565
    Trim the edges and then cut the sausage into 3-4cm sections.
    CIMG5570
    Place each onto the prepared tray with the dpiral facing up, press down gently to flatten and then chill for 15-20 minutes.
    CIMG5574
  4. Preheat your oven to 210°C/190°C fan. Line a baking tray with baking paper. Bake the spirals for 20 minutes by which stage they will have puffed up and have turned a deep golden brown. Immediately remove from the tray and onto a wire rack to cool.

CIMG5580

Another way to make these a little bit special is to glaze them as they are still warm to give that extra shine. I have to say these really impressed me, not only for how simple and quick they were to make but for the flavour from them too. I know some of you will say it’s cheating using all that store bought stuff but I want to make this one easy for people to make at such a busy period. Oh and I made my own puff pastry so ha!

CIMG5609

These are certainly much lighter and way more flavoursome than the traditional Mincemeat pies so mission accomplished on that end! I only managed one of these as I may have eaten 5 of the St. Lucia buns the day before… I know it’s the season to indulge and all that but even I know that was just being greedy!

Thanks again for reading,

Stephen

3 thoughts on “On the sixth day…Mincemeat Swirls

    • Hi Claire, I used a simple Apricot glaze: heat 2 tsbp apricot jam and a small splash of water in a pan until it just comes to the boil then brush over the buns. It’s best to do it when they’re still warm from the oven.

Leave a Reply

