Savoury

World Cup Party Snacks

queso-fundido

Wednesday’s come around rather quickly and before I know it I have to prepare for my next episode with Kerry McLean on BBC Radio Ulster. This time though I was ready. More than ready in fact. I was a week ahead of myself, recipes all tested, photoed and typed up; all I had to do was hit send. But some football event managed to sneak up on me and fall upon my week on radio. Of course this meant that it would be ‘nice’ if I could theme my recipes for the World Cup, which of course meant my original recipes would have to wait. So queue a weekend of thinking up a new recipe, testing it, photoing it and then typing it up. All’s good though as I am rather pleased with these recipes. If you’re as big a fan as my friends and myself are of chips and dips or party food then this is right up your street. Homemade tortilla chips may seem a step too far away from convenient and quick but trust me there’s nothing better than  flavouring them yourselves.

You will need:

Homemade Tortilla Chips

1 packet of fresh tortillas
2 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp paprika or your favourite spice
1 tsp salt

  1. Preheat you oven to 200°C/180°C fan.  Stack the tortillas on top of each other and use a sharp knife to slice right through into triangles. Place into a bowl, add the olive oil and toss to coat. Sprinkle in the spices and salt and toss again until evenly coated.
  2. Arrange on a baking tray and bake for 4-6 mins until slightly browned and just hard. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

Queso Fundido with Chorizo

1 tbsp olive oil

2 chorizo sausages, diced

1 tomato, seeded and diced

1 medium onion, coarsely chopped

1 large jalapeño, seeded and diced

1 tsp ground cumin

2 tsp paprika

3 tbsp tequila (optional)

250g Mexican melting cheese (Chihuahua, quesadilla or asadero)

Bunch of fresh coriander, chopped

  1. Heat the oil in a frying pan over medium-high heat. Add the chorizo and cook until lightly browned, about 4 minutes; drain off most of the liquid. Add the tomato, onion, and jalapeño, cumin, paprika and cook, stirring frequently, until the onion begins to soften and brown, about 7 minutes. Add the tequila (if using) and cook, stirring, until reduced to a glaze.
  2. Sprinkle in the cheese. Stir slowly and constantly until just melted then stir in the coriander. Serve immediately in a warm dish with chips for dipping

 

World Cup Corn dip

310g canned sweet corn
1 green pepper, diced
150g canned chopped jalapeno peppers, drained and liquid added to taste
1 large onion, chopped
250g mayonnaise
250g sour cream
1 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
420g  shredded sharp cheddar cheese

  1. Mix everything together and season to taste. Be careful about the amount of liquid added to the dip, adjust as you go. Chill for about 2 hours (even better overnight) before serving with the chips.

Thanks for reading again, hope you can tune into me sometime!

Stephen

Leave a Reply

